Bonaire Island 8 coin set 2011

Currently unavailable

Notify on availability

Bonaire is a special municipality of the Netherlands, consisting of the Caribbean island of Bonaire and, nestled in its western crescent, the uninhabited islet of Klein Bonaire. It has an area around 288 km² and 14.000 inhabitants. Together with Aruba and Curaçao it forms a group referred to as the ABC islands of the Leeward Antilles, the southern island chain of the Lesser Antilles. The name Bonaire is thought to have originally come from the Caiquetio word 'Bonay'. The early Spanish and Dutch modified its spelling to Bojnaj and also Bonaire, which means "Good Air".

Dutch is the official language on Bonaire, since it is part of the Netherlands. Nevertheless, Papiamentu is recognized as another language on the island. Bonaire was part of the Netherlands Antilles until the country's dissolution on 10 October 2010, when the island became a special municipality within the country of the Netherlands. Since January 1, 2011, the U.S. dollar has been the official currency, replacing the Netherlands Antillian Guilder.

Bonaire's economy is mainly based on tourism. The island caters mainly to scuba divers and snorkelers, as there are few sandy beaches, while the surrounding reefs are easily accessible from the shore. Bonaire is world renowned for its excellent scuba diving and is consistently rated among the best diving locations in the world

This coin set includes: a 1-5-10-25-50 Cent; 1 Dollar, a bimetallic 2 ½ Dollar and a bimetallic 5 Dollar coin. On the obverse of the coin is depicted Netherlands Queen Beatrix, along with the name and arms of the island; and on the reverse the coins feature several native plants.

Additional product information

Year 2,011
Condition UNC
Denomination 1-5-10-25-50 Cent; 1 Dollar; bimetallic 2 ½ Dollar; bimetallic 5 Dollar.

Browse these categories as well: Unusual coins, Islands, Sets