British Indian Ocean Territory £2 2009

In stock

British Indian Ocean Territory £2 2009

The British Indian Ocean Territory, also known as Chagos Archipelago, is an overseas territory of the United Kingdom situated in the Indian Ocean, halfway between Africa and Indonesia. The territory comprises more than 1,000 individual islands.
In 1966, the great majority of the native population was forcefully relocated to Mauritius to establish a joint military base of the United Kingdom and the United States.  This territory was considered to be of great importance due to its strategic location at the centre of the Indian Ocean.
This is the first official coin ever produced for this territory.


Browse these categories as well: Islands, Antarctic coins, Unusual coins